REPORT OF OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

(SPECIAL) MEETING HELD ON 14 MAY 2007

* Councillor Stanley Sheinwald Chairman:

Councillors: B E Gate Paul Scott (1)

Mrs Rekha Shah Barry Macleod-Cullinane Mrs Myra Michael Dinesh Solanki Jerry Miles Yogesh Teli (4) Phillip O'Dell (2) Jeremy Zeid (3)

(1), (2), (3) and (4) Denote category of Reserve Members

PART I - RECOMMENDATIONS - NIL

PART II - MINUTES

132. **Appointment of Chairman:**

RESOLVED: To note the appointment at the Annual Meeting of Council on 10 May 2007 of Councillor Stanley Sheinwald as Chairman of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee for the Municipal Year 2007/08.

133. **Attendance by Reserve Members:**

RESOLVED: To note the attendance at this meeting of the following duly appointed Reserve Members:-

Ordinary Member Reserve Member

Councillor Mitzi Green Councillor Philip O'Dell Councillor Christopher Noyce Councillor Paul Scott Councillor Anthony Seymour Councillor Jeremy Zeid Councillor Mark Versallion Councillor Yogesh Teli

134. **Declarations of Interest:**

RESOLVED: To note that there were no declarations of interests made by Members in relation to the business transacted at this meeting.

135. **Arrangement of Agenda:**

RESOLVED: That (1) in accordance with the Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985, the following item be admitted late to the agenda by virtue of the special circumstances and grounds for urgency detailed below:-

Special Circumstances / Grounds for Urgency Agenda item

7. This report was being consulted on at the time Establishment of Sub-Committees 2007/08 the agenda was printed and circulated. Members were requested to consider this item, as a matter of urgency, so that the Sub-Committees could be established.

(2) all items be considered with the press and public present.

136. **Appointment of Vice-Chairman:**

RESOLVED: To appoint Councillor Mitzi Green as Vice-Chairman of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee for the Municipal Year 2007/08.

137. Minutes:

RESOLVED: That the minutes of the meeting held on 24 April 2007 be deferred to the next ordinary meeting of the Committee.

^{*} Denotes Member present

138. Establishment of Sub-Committees 2007/08:

RESOLVED: That the Sub-Committees of the Overview and Scrutiny Committee be established for the Municipal Year 2007/08, or until the reconfiguration of the Sub-Committees is agreed, with the memberships, Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen as detailed in the appendix to these minutes.

[Note: In accordance with Overview and Scrutiny Committee Procedure Rule 36.1, Members agreed to suspend part of Procedure Rule 11.2 to allow the Vice-Chairmen of the Sub-Committees to be appointed at this meeting in light of the proposed reconfiguration of the Sub-Committees].

(Note: The meeting, having commenced at 6.52 pm, closed at 6.55 pm).

(Signed) COUNCILLOR STANLEY SHEINWALD Chairman

APPENDIX 1

SCRUTINY SUB COMMITTEES

(Membership in order of political group nominations)

Conservative

Labour

(1) ADULT HEALTH AND SOCIAL CARE (7) (Formerly Health and Social Care Sub-Committee)

(4) (3)

Members

Julia Merison Mrs Myra Michael (CH) Vina Mithani **Robert Benson**

Margaret Davine David Gawn Mrs Rekha Shah (VC) *

Reserve Members

- Ashok Kulkarni 2. Dinesh Solanki Jeremy Zeid 4. Yogesh Teli
- Mitzi Green
- Keith Ferry
 Keeki Thammaiah
- (2) CHILDREN AND YOUNG PEOPLE (11) (Formerly Lifelong Learning Sub-Committee)

(8) (3)

<u>Members</u>

Lurline Champagnie Macleod-Cullinane Julia Merison Vina Mithani Dinesh Solanki Yogesh Teli Mark Versallion (CH) Jeremy Zeid

B E Gate (VC) * Mitzi Green **David Perry**

1. Ms Nana Asante

2. Bill Stephenson

3. Mrs Sasi Suresh

Reserve Members

- 1. Mrs Myra Michael
- 2. Anthony Seymour
- Janet Cowan 3.
- Stanley Sheinwald
 Ashok Kulkarni
- 6. 7.

Voting Co-opted Members:

- Two representatives of Voluntary Aided Sector
- Mrs J Rammelt/Reverend P Réece (2) Two representatives of Parent Governors
 - Mrs D Speel (Primary)/Mr R Chauhan (Secondary)

	(3) SAFER & STRONGER COMMUNITIES (7) (Formerly Strengthening Communities Sub-Committee)	
	(4)	(3)
<u>I.</u> <u>Members</u>	Robert Benson Ashok Kulkarni Vina Mithani Anthony Seymour (CH)	Mano Dharmarajah Mrs Sasi Suresh Keeki Thammaiah (VC) *
II. <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u>	 Mrs Lurline Champagnie Janet Cowan - - 	 Dhirajlal Lavingia B E Gate Navin Shah
	(4) SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT AND ENTERPRISE (7) (Formerly Environment and the Economy Sub-Committee)	
	(4)	(3)
<u>I.</u> <u>Members</u>	Ashok Kulkarni Vina Mithani Stanley Sheinwald (CH) Dinesh Solanki	Ms Nana Asante Graham Henson Jerry Miles (VC) *
II. <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u>	 Yogesh Teli Jeremy Zeid Anthony Seymour Janet Cowan 	 Mano Dharmarajah Phillip O'Dell Dhirajlal Lavingia
	(5) CALL-IN SUB-COMMITTEE (5)	
	(3)	(2)
<u>l.</u> <u>Members</u>	Stanley Sheinwald Anthony Seymour (CH) Mark Versallion	B E Gate Mitzi Green (VC) *
II. Reserve Members	 Jeremy Zeid Mrs Lurline Champagnie - Dinesh Solanki Julia Merison 	 Jerry Miles Graham Henson Keeki Thammaiah Mrinal Choudhury
CH *	= Chair= Denotes Group Members for consultation on Administrative Matters	
t	[Note: The appointed number of Reserves for each Group is in excess of the Committee Procedure Rule 3.2 provision, by virtue of Resolution 17: Overview and Scrutiny Committee (18.7.06).]	

(6) CALL-IN SUB-COMMITTEE (Education)

(7)

<u>ı.</u> <u>Members</u>

Mrs Lurline Champagnie Macleod-Cullinane Anthony Seymour (CH) Stanley Sheinwald Dinesh Solanki Mark Versallion Jeremy Zeid B E Gate

Mitzi Green (VC) *

<u>II.</u> <u>Reserve</u> <u>Members</u>

- Vina Mithani
 Yogesh Teli
 Ashok Kulkarni
 Janet Cowan
- 5. Tony Seymour6. Mark Versallion
- 7. -† 8. -† 9. -

- 1. Jerry Miles
- 2. Graham Henson
- † 3. Keeki Thammaiah
- † 4. Mrinal Choudhury

Voting Co-opted Members:

- (1) Two representatives of Voluntary Aided Sector
 - Mrs J Rammelt/Reverend P Réece
- (2) Two representatives of Parent Governors
 - Mrs D Speel (Primary)/Mr R Chauhan (Secondary)

CH

= Chair

= Denotes Group Members for consultation on Administrative Matters

†

[Note: The appointed number of Reserves for each Group is in excess of the Committee Procedure Rule 3.2 provision, by virtue of Resolution 17: Overview and Scrutiny Committee (18.7.06).]